It is important to distinguish that removing your character and deleting an account is not the same thing!
Deleting an account will completely remove all the characters from your account in the game.
Deleting a character will only remove the character you selected on your account. This is usually done to remove clones that you no longer need.
If you still have any questions – welcome to comments.